

Central Iowa NWA Meeting

February 11th, 2014 National Weather Service - Johnston, IA





- 1. AWIPS2 overview and review of winter forecasting within the GFE environment
 - 2. 18th Annual Severe Storms and Doppler Radar Conference March 27th-29th, 2014
 - A. Team Updates
 - Agenda
 - Registration
 - Travel
 - Vendor
 - Electronics
 - Radar Workshop
 - Scholarship and Awards
 - B. Split Registration Discussion and policy
 - C. Team Chair waived registrations
 - D. Conference location 2015-2016
 - Would like to get 4 bids, Current location, 1 in Ames and 2 Des Moines metro
 - Will form a team soon. Plan to have site and dates determined by this year's conference.
 - E. Conference Registration Fees
 - Students \$80, Regular \$150
 - Members: Students \$48, Regular \$95
- 3. Social Media Team
 - Plan to form a team that will submit chapter news for the NWA newsletter
- 4. Treasurer Update
 - A. Account Balance \$21,648.87
 - \$250 donation to scholarship from WeatherCall not included
 - B. Claim sent to Great Iowa Treasure Hunt for \$600 vendor fees nothing heard yet
- 5. Secretary Notes
- 6. Chapter Activity Proposals
 - Helping hearing impaired with NOAA Weather Radio adapters
 - Serving at a food bank
 - Other Ideas?
- 7. Past Notes and Reminders
 - Brenda Brock and Karl Jungbluth will be invited to the conference as our guests in appreciation for their service to the chapter
 - Email Addresses Google for Non-Profits Update

president@iowa-nwa.com treasurer@iowa-nwa.com students@iowa-nwa.com registration@iowa-nwa.com vice.president@iowa-nwa.com secretary@iowa-nwa.com webmaster@iowa-nwa.com

8. Other Items

- A. Next Meeting Date March 11th? Location TBD
- B. Officer and Team Chair meeting the following week?

2013 – 2014 Conference Committees

Registration Team

Mindy Beerends (Chair) Corey Harguth Lyndee Clark Tom Maaske Rachel Duebner Kevin Smalley

Agenda Team

Dr. Gallus (Chair) Brian Squitieri Dave Flory Karl Jungbluth Aubry Bhattarai Ken Podrazik Mindy Beerends Chris Maiers Rod Donavon Jeff Zogg

Travel Team

Aubry Bhattarai (Chair) Jimmy Cayer

Vendor Team

Chris Maiers (Chair) Jim Orlando Rachel Duebner Mindy Beerends Kevin Smalley Tom Maaske

Electronics Team

Willard Sharp (Chair) Dave Flory Chris Maiers

Pam Daale Scholarship Team

Rod Donavon (Chair) Ken Podrazik Bill Gallus Jeff Zogg Aubry Bhattarai Brian Squitieri

Radar Workshop Team

Kevin Skow (Chair) Dave Flory Chris Maiers

Hotel Team

Rod Donavon (Chair) Ken Podrazik Chris Maiers Mindy Beerends