

Central Iowa NWA

February 12th, 2015 Agronomy Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA



Minutes

1.) Presentation: "Top 10 weirdest, most extreme weather events in Iowa IMHO" – Bill Gallus

2.) Old Business

a. Recognition of distinguished members update (Maiers)

This committee has been talked about at past meetings and has begun to take shape. Current members of the committee include Jim Lee, Jeff Zogg, Megan Salois and a few students. The plan is for Dave F and Chris M to nominate people and then committee will decide if they deserve recognition.

b. Weather Information/Warning Information on Social Media (Beerends) Completed. The Hollings Scholar has found another way and no longer needs our group's participation.

c. Fund-Raising efforts

Please bring up any ideas you may have.

- Previously have discussed share with AMS club at ISU Memorial Court food court. No updates on this yet.
- Jimmy Cayer suggests a March Madness bracket where a fee is charged and the proceeds go to the NWA but the winner only gets bragging rights (no prize)
 - Some concerns that this might not be legal
- d. Severe Storms and Doppler Radar Conference, March 26 28, 2015 (Committee chairs)
 - i. Updates/Announcements
 - Agenda Team Bill Gallus:
 - There are about eight abstracts submitted already which is more than this point in past years.
 - The agenda team may be called on if we have enough people wanting to speak that we may need to consider doing a parallel session. (two rooms with ongoing talks, similar talks in each room but hopefully keep the topics of each room very different) We haven't had to do this before as we've always ended up with just the right number of talks.
 - Willard mentions this would pose a lot of technical challenges
 - Would this mean more attendees?
 - Ben and Tony wanted a bit more time for their talk about the Pilger, NE tornadoes

- Gene Willers was named "Nebraska Citizen Hero of the Year." He saw the Pilger tornado coming and got everyone in the bank into the vault and only the vault survived the tornado
 - Dave suggest the social media team can use this information for promotion

Awards Team – Rod Donavon:

- A reminder to get Pam Daale scholarship applications in
 - The transcript requirement is for copies of transcript, not an official transcript
 - We only have estimated 8-12 applicants each year. This means we have good competition amongst applicants, but not high numbers
- A suggestion that Senior Thesis presentations would be good candidates for Tim Samaras award presentations at the conference

Electronics Team – Willard Sharp:

- Getting ready to get started on electronics needs for the conference

Travel Team – Aubry Bhattarai:

- Current travel estimate is: \$4345.12
 - Last year's costs were: \$4060.45
 - Please note last year's costs are not representative of normal chapter costs as a few speakers donated part of their travel funds back to the chapter
 - This is a rough travel estimate and may change
 - dramatically as plane tickets are purchased and will likely come down
- Plane tickets from Denver are very expensive so that is unfortunate for the chapter. Haven't booked Karen's ticket yet in the hopes that prices come down.

Radar Workshop – Dave Flory (Kevin Skow not present):

- Will consider doing additional things to what we have done in the past.
- Thinking about adding clickers to each table to involve interactive questioning for teams

ii. Menus for banquet

We get to choose a menu item for the banquet

- We had pork last year, which was a change from the chicken we'd had for several years prior.
- We choose from an old menu or the new menu which the hotel has this year
- Some uncertainty if we choose off the dinner menu or lunch menu

- The ISU alumni luncheon may use the same menu so may be good to coordinate the two meals
- iii. Registration

Registration – Dave Flory (Mindy Beerends not present):

- Estimated that we have 13 registrants at this time
- Web pages are open for electronic registration
- AMS will discuss registrations for students at the next cabinet meeting
- Bill asks if chairs and cabinet members will be registered by the chapter. Dave thinks this is how it will be done and has been done in the past, but we aren't sure and will check with Mindy

3.) New Business

a. Chapter of the year nomination (Flory)

In order to compete for this, we need to be nominated by somebody out of the chapter. We haven't been nominated since 2006 (when we won). Dave has an idea of somebody we can ask. Dave will work on this

b. Location for next meeting. Any ideas?

Any ideas for where to have the next meeting? Dave wants to do something fun since it will be right before the conference.

- Send suggestions to Chris M
- We could bring in a speaker for the meeting such as Harry Hillaker
- Seven Oaks was suggested. It was suggested that Seven Oaks does group rates for Ski, snowboard or tubing

c. Treasurer update

Account totals:

- \$23,080.15 in the account
- \$1,372.81 in pay pal account. The pay pal number is fluid this time of the year.

Jim has updated our taxes for this year (tax exempt status)

Meeting adjourned.

Future Meeting Dates: Wednesday, March 11; Wednesday, April 29 (High Trestle Trail, Slater)

Dates are subject to change, most locations and times are to be determined

Attendees:

Sydney McBride Katie Berlund Tayler Schillerberg Jimmy Cayer Sean Stelten Willard Sharp Eric Manges Nick Lesser Seth Loyd Jake Smith Matthew Miksch Cassie Happel Kris Tuftedal Jaret Lansford Caitlin Cervac Zane Satre Kelsie Ferin Lauren Walker Nate Smith Kenny Podrazik Aubry Bhattarai Brad Carlberg Lauren Merten **Kierstin Blomberg** Justin Covert Megan Salois Jennifer McDermed Dave Flory Rod Donavon **Bill Gallus**

2014 – 2015 Conference Committees

Registration Team

Megan Salois Lyndee Clark Sydney McBride Mindy Beerends (Chair) Jessi Asberry Lauren Merten Matt Lewis Allan Curtis Jennifer McDermed

Agenda Team

Bill Gallus (Chair) Rod Donavon Aubry Bhattarai Mindy Beerends Brad Carlberg Dave Flory Kenzie Krocak Kenny Podrazik Jeff Zogg

Travel Team

Aubry Bhattarai (Chair) Allan Curtis

Promotions/Vendor Team

Chris Maiers (Chair) Lauren Walker Kelsie Ferin Elizabeth Lennartson

Electronics Team

Willard Sharp (Chair) Chris Maiers Kevin Skow Dave Flory Tayler Schillerberg Matthew Miksch

Scholarship and Awards Team

Rod Donavon (Chair) Aubry Bhattarai Kenny Podrazik Bill Gallus Jeff Zogg

Radar Workshop Team

Kevin Skow (Chair) Chris Maiers Antoinette Serrato Cassie Happel

Hotel Team

Rod Donavon (Chair) Chris Maiers Dave Flory