

# **Central Iowa NWA Meeting Minutes**

# Wednesday, January 29, 2020 | 7PM

#### Perfect Games—Ames, IA

**I. Opening**—Kenneth Podrazik opens the meeting.

## **CONFERENCE TEAM UPDATES**

#### II. Registration Chair

## Clair Womack - New Registration chair replacing Mindy Berends.

- i. Registration is officially open.
- ii. Email Issues: G-Mail has locked out the account—it is currently inaccessible. Solutions are being looked into at this time.
- iii. Chris Maiers willing to work registration table Thursday and Friday.

# III. Agenda

#### **Bill Gallus**

- i. Two additional abstracts have been sent in.
- ii. List of current speakers still in good shape.
- iii. Speakers are coming from Omaha and Hastings. Consider adding them to the webpage on the lineup.

#### IV. Travel

## **Kristy Carter**

- i. Josh Johnson (Alabama) Arriving on Friday and leaving on Saturday. Flight information not confirmed yet.
- ii. Tim Marshall—Flight information not confirmed yet.
- iii. Tyler Roney—drive; Adam Clark—drive
- iv. Three flights left to buy.
- v. Credit cards expire in two days; in the process of acquiring new ones.
- vi. \$3413.26 allocated for travel budget so far.

#### V. Promotions

#### Mike Cox

- i. Not in attendance
- ii. 11 vendor invites sent; goal is for a total of 15 invites.
- iii. Offer received from Gibson Ridge; working on RadarScope.
- iv. Potential for NWS Vendor Booth?

# VI. Electronics

## John Thielen

- i. Wireless technology
- ii. All team members will not be needed at all times at the desk.
- iii. Team members not at desk could take photos for social media.

#### VII. Scholarship

#### Mike Fowle

- i. Scholarship Deadline for Pam Daale and Tim Samaras Scholarship is February 21st.
- ii. No official submissions as of this evening.
- iii. Scholarship has been announced publicly in hopes of a decent pool of applicants.
- iv. Reimbursement up to \$250—cover travel and hotel.
- v. Motion passed for the new travel reimbursement rule.

## VIII. AMS Liaison

## **Aaryn Graeve**

- i. Encouraged students to attend NWA meeting and conference at ISU AMS Meeting on Tuesday, January 28.
- ii. AMS will be allocating some funds to student members of the NWA who will be attending the SSDR Conference.

#### IX. Radar Workshop

#### **Rod Donovan**

- i. Case has been selected.
- ii. Potentially separate awards for professionals and student teams.
- iii. Individual assignments/roles given on team for the workshop itself.
- iv. Additional details discussed later on.

## X. Sessions

# **Kyle Hugeback**

- i. Radarscope Presentation
- ii. Possibly do the Radarscope Presentation same day as Radar Workshop.

## XI. Hotel Chair

## **Dave Flory**

- i. Discussed ideas for the venue of the 25th SSDR Conference.
- ii. Possibly looking at hotels in Downtown Des Moines, but concerns exist with the cost and harming the good relationship with current venue in Ankeny.
- iii. Could have the 25<sup>th</sup> SSDR Conference at the same hotel for cost purposes, but have an event or outing during the conference off site.

#### XII. Miscellaneous Items

- a. Bank Cards discussed.
- b. Letters sent back to people who need to be repaid except Stanley Kite.
- c. Graphics have been started for social media.
- d. If you would like to be on the email list, contact Dave Flory.

## XIII. Treasurer Report

- a. Bank Account: \$21,986.71
- b. PayPal: \$1,017.51

c. Dues are due TONIGHT (1/29/2020) for those whose membership has expired.

# XIV. Next Meeting location/date

a. Possibly at WHO-TV, Date—Shooting for February  $19^{th}$  or  $26^{th}$ . Alternative dates  $17^{th}$  or the  $24^{th}$ .

# XV. Card Drawing Winners

Jon Thielen

Kristy Carter

Kevin Green

Woody Unruh

**Colin Young** 

Elizabeth Tyrone

# XVI. Meeting Adjourned

# **UPDATED CONFERENCE TEAMS CHAIRS AND TEAM MEMBERS**

Agenda	Travel	Registration	Radar Workshop	Electronics	Scholarship	Vendor Promotions	Sessions	Hotel
Bill	Kristy	Clair	Rod	Jon	Mike	Mike Cox	Kyle	Dave
Gallus(C)	Carter(C)	Womack(C)	Donovan(C)	Thielen(C)	Fowle(C)	(C)	Hugeback	Flory (C)
							(C)	
Mike	Caleb	Amanda	Alex Krull	Dave	Bill Gallus		Dylan	Kyle
Fowle	Wood	Viken		Flory			Dodson	Hugeback
Dave Flory	Aaryn	Caleb	Dave Flory	Willard	Rod		Woody	Allan
	Graeve	Wood		Sharp	Donovan		Unruh	Curtis
Rod		Allysa	Mike Fowle	Jared	Kristy		Elizabeth	
Donovan		Dallman		Schadler	Carter		Tirone	
Kristy		Kyle	Trey	Sydnie	Dylan			
Carter		Hugeback	Fulbright	Tupy	Dodson			
Dylan		Elizabeth	Adam	Natalie	Jim Lee			
McDermott		Tirone	Lobberecht	Trout				
Teryn		Sara	Kyle	Benji	Allan			
Mueller		Foernssler	Hugeback	Wyberg	Curtis			
Tyler		Melissa	Dylan	Kyle				
Mercurio		Piper	Dodson	Hugeback				
Jacob			Woody	Dylan				
Stitcher			Unruh	Dodson				
Justin			Allan Curtis	Dylan				
Covert				Engel				

# **ATTENDANCE (1.29.2020)**

m Jan 29,	2020 Sign IP
1) Allan Curtis 2) Kendrick O'Podium 3) Alex Kroll 4) Mike Fowle 5) Rod Donavon 6) Richart Cirona 7) Kristy Carter-Maus 8) Clair Womauls 9) Allysa Dallmann 10) Natalie Trout 11) Willand Sturp 12) Alex Capathas 13) Melissa Piper 14) Zach Hins 15) Woody Unruh 16) Bill Gallw 17) Colin Young 18) Ian Kennedy 19) Jry Julywht 20) Josob stichter 21) Delenn Pulmen 22) Kevin Greene 23) Sara Foernssler	29) Jan Thielen 30) Aaryn Graeve 31) Te-yn Mueller 32) Juan Pakio Mangnal 33) Benjamin Smith 87) Dan Flory
24) Amanda Viken 25) Mary Knoefert 26) Kyle Hugeback 27) Elizabeth Tirone 28) Ezio Mauri	