Tim Samaras Scholarship

The Central Iowa Chapter of the National Weather Association is sponsoring a scholarship in memory of tornado researcher Tim Samaras in the amount of $1500. The recipient will be notified around mid-March and awarded at the annual conference/symposium.

The scholarship is dedicated to Tim Samaras, a world-famous engineer, inventor, and tornado researcher who had very close ties to our NWA Chapter.

Tim Samaras
Tim Samaras

Eligibility: The Central Iowa Chapter of the National Weather Association sponsors a scholarship in the memory of Tim Samaras in the amount of $1500. The scholarship is available to all full-time students pursuing a career in operational or research meteorology, having sophomore or junior status at the time of the chapter's annual conference/symposium and a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or greater (on a 4.0-point scale). The award will be presented at the conference/symposium, and the winner must attend the conference/symposium to receive the scholarship.

Previous Tim Samaras Memorial Scholarship Winners

2022  —  Sydney Brown  —  Purdue University

2021  —  Sean Melanson  —  Penn State University

2020  —  Cameron Gonteski  —  Millersville University of Pennsylvania

2019  —  Adam Weiner  —  Millersville University of Pennsylvania

2018  —  Elizabeth Tirone  —  State University New York - Oswego

2017  —  Jonathan Theilen  —  Iowa State University

Conference News

2023 Conference Date

March 23 - March 25, 2023